Toolkit Web Designers

Glyn Charles Pursuit Race 2007

Tuesday, 22 May 2007
Glyn Charles Pursuit Race - Hayling Island Sailing Club - 19 May 2007

Chips Howarth and Vyv Townsend - Fireball

The Glyn Charles Pursuit Race was won by Chips Howarth and Vyv Townsend (Fireball) with second James and Will Rusden (420) and third Keith Walker and John Rees (Fireball), from an entry of 139.

Leading Flying 15, Apthorp/Richard at 7th
Leading Merlin Rocket R & D Dobrijevic at 8th
Leading Musto Skiff, Richard Stenhouse at 13th
Leading RS200, N & K Peters at 15th
Leading RS800, D & F Sayce at 17th
Leading I-Moth, Paul Brotherton at 26th
Leading Finn, John Tremlett at 32nd
Leading RS700, Tim Dickinson at 35th
Leading RS Elite, Lamb, Carpenter, McBride 37th
Leading Swallow, Chris Creak at 50th

Glyn Charles was one of Great Britain's best young sailors, tragically lost in the 1998 Sydney Hobart race. Each year, friends and acquaintances invite dinghy and small keelboat sailors from around the country to compete in the Glyn Charles Memorial Pursuit Race, held in Chichester Harbour and run by HISC.

All proceeds from this event go to the John Merricks Sailing Trust.

LINK - Full GC Pursuit Race Results...
LINK - Images from the Glyn Charles Pursuit Race
LINK - More images from the Glyn Charles Race

l-r Margaret Charles (Glyn"s mother), Mark Covell and Chips Howarth

Neil & Ross Mackley in their Mirror

Mark & Emily Covell

Ossie Stewart & his son

Paul Brotherton in his Moth - congratualtions for getting round the course in that breeze!

Top of Page

[ Back ]

© Copyright 2019 John Merricks Sailing TrustWeb Design By Toolkit Websites