Toolkit Web Designers

Glyn Charles Pursuit Race 2010

The Glyn Charles Memorial Pursuit Race was held on Saturday 15 May with 139 boats taking part at Hayling Island Sailing Club.

After a slow tour of the harbour the climax was a 15 knot wind spike which provided a grand final finish with the faster spinnaker classes just failing to overhaul the slower, and long sailing slower classes.

Overall Glyn Charles winners were Jon Ibbotson and Charlotte Stewart (pictured above), sailing a National 12.  Second was the Punk of Daniel Holman and third the RS200 of Clive Catt and David Richards.

Leading home the local Flying 15 fleet was Charles Apthorp and Dave Richards in fourth, then another RS200, that of Damion and Flavia Roberts.

In fifth was the Solo of Nick Rawlings and seventh the first keelboat, the RS Elite of Mike Dawe and Greg Lamb. The Finn class were out in some numbers and first finisher was George Cooper in eighth place.

Scratch boat and first away at 12:00 were Nigel and Rob Thomas in their Mirror dinghy, they finished thirteenth and took the Parent and Child prize. First of the 23 strong Merlin Rocket class were Richard Whitworth and Olly Turner.  

First placed Youth entry were Gemma Bird and Guy Wilkinson in an RS Feva (pictured below).

Many thanks go to all the competitors for their donations, as all proceeds are donated to the John Merricks Sailing Trust.

Our thanks also to all the generous event sponsors, including: Fat Face, Suunto watches (tacktick), Scott USA, Gill, Yachts & Yachting, RS Sailing, Dubarry, Offshore Challenges, Harken, Gul, Artemis Even Keel Project and Pinnel & Bax.

Glyn Charles Pursuit Race results . . .

Images by Steve Arkley of . . .

Images by Chris Bashall - PW hisc . . .


© Copyright 2019 John Merricks Sailing TrustWeb Design By Toolkit Websites